Skip to main content

Board of Directors

The Special Operations Fund Board of Directors consists of recipients, former Special Mission Unit members/commanders and leaders from a cross-section of the business and finance communities. Our members are acutely aware that our "customers" are the families of our Special Mission Units. In addition to exercising their fiduciary responsibility for funds entrusted to us for the benefit of those families, contributions from our Board pay all the Fund's non-program expenses ensuring all donations from those supporting our mission go directly to our recipients. Interaction between our Board and the units we support assures we can react as new needs arise. Susan Grant has served as Executive Director since our founding in 1992. Susan has detailed knowledge of the families we support and interacts with them regularly to provide individual support and guidance.

D. Michael Walden
Former Public Company Chairman/CEO
Board Member, MetalForming USA

David F. Cooper

(CW5 U.S. Army, Retired)
Special Operations Flight Leader
Distinguished Service Cross,
Silver Star; Distinguished Flying Cross Recipient

John D. Bowlin
Vice Chairman
Director, Generac Power Systems
Board Director, Cerity Partners
Former President/CEO Miller Brewing;
Kraft Foods International

Michael R. Boyce
Managing Director, Peak Investments

Julia B. Dailey
COO, Holocene Advisors, LP

Jonathan T. Dawson
Managing Member, Southport Management LLC

Jeffrey W. Eggers

(CDR, U.S. Navy, Retired)
Managing Director, Risk & Return

Henry ‘Ike’ Eisenbarth
(U.S. Army Ranger, Retired)

Stephen J. Fitzgerald

(CAPT, U.S. Navy, Retired)
Vice President, ACV Auctions

Matthew C. Flavin

(U.S. Navy, Veteran)
CEO, Concord Energy

Joel P. Kaczorowski

(SGM, U.S. Army, Retired)

Michael E. Kohlsdorf
President, Francisco Partners Consulting

George M. Lund

Chairman & CEO, Torch Hill Investment Partners

Randy Martinez
(U.S. Air Force, Retired)

Charles L. McHarney, IV

(U.S. Air Force, Retired)
Director, Leadership and
Character Development, The O’Neal School

Andrew N. Milani, II
Former Commander, 160th Special Operations Aviation Regiment
Former Chief of Staff, U.S. Army Special Operations Command
(COL, U.S. Army, Retired)

Heather E. Moran
(Gold Star Recipient)

Laurence E. Rich
(U.S. Navy, Veteran)

Geoffrey L. Stone
Chairman, CEO, MetalForming USA

Timothy J. Walsh
Co-Founder and Managing Director, CCMP Capital Advisors

Timothy M. Wolfe
Former President University of Missouri System and Novell
Vice President of IBM and Covansys
CyFIR Board of Directors

David C. Miller, Jr.
Founder/Chairman Emeritus
(US Ambassador, Retired)
President, US Diplomatic Studies Foundation

Rick Woolard
President Emeritus
(Captain, SEALs, Retired)
President, National Navy UDT-SEAL Museum

Susan Grant
Executive Director

Rebecca ‘Becki’ Chambers
Assistant Director
(CW4, U.S. Army, Retired)

Heather Majuri
Programs Director

Our Partners

Since 2004 the Special Operations Fund has provided matching grants for merit-based scholarships awarded by the Unit Scholarship Fund, Fort Bragg, NC; the Night Stalker Foundation, Fort Campbell, KY; the Rangers Scholarship Fund, Fort Benning, GA; the Navy SEAL Foundation, Virginia Beach, VA; the Vigilant Torch Foundation, Springfield, VA; and The Association (USAF), Fort Bragg,NC.

“Their foremost request is for someone to watch over their families if they don’t come back alive.”

– Ambassador David C. Miller